Crawfish and Shrimp and Grits

8 Jun

Back in April I went to a crawfish boil at some friends’ house in Birmingham’s Ross Bridge community (super cute “resort town”). Everything was tasty and the day was sunny and pleasant. It was just a basic crawfish boil with potatoes and corn and old friends, and new ones, too.

Like every good host, there was more food than company could eat, and they sent us all home with a baggy of cooked and peeled crawfish. Some said they would make etouffee, others dips. I decided to try to make crawfish and grits, a play on the Southern favorite shrimp and grits.

Look how bright red the crawfish is. This was simply delicious -- one of the best dishes I have ever made.

I found this yummy recipe for shrimp and grits on Southern Living online.

Recipes, for me, are a guide, not a must-do-it-this-way-instruction-sheet. If I don’t have it, I’ll leave it out or substitute it. Sometimes I forget to pick items up at the store, other things, such as garlic cloves in this recipe, I just don’t want to fool with. Flour is another ingredient I probably won’t buy – I just don’t use it enough. For recipes like this, it wasn’t needed. And some ingredients I just do not like to eat. Some may say I’m a picky eater. But, really, why consume those calories if it’s not worth it?

Each recipe then becomes my own, full of the flavors I love.

Since I didn’t have a pound of crawfish, I added shrimp to make up the difference. I also substituted turkey bacon for regular bacon (it’s what I had in the fridge already) and used chives from my garden instead of green onions.

This turned out to be one of the best dishes I have ever made! It was hearty and satisfying and, most importantly, delicious!

Leave a Reply

