Salsa Salad

14 Jul

Despite almost every picture I’ve posted on here, not ALL of my dishes are served out of bowls.

But here’s another one.

One of my college roommates tried Weight Watchers for a while (and it worked for her!) and I looked through some of their guidelines. While I don’t remember specifics, and I don’t think I fully comprehended it at the time anyway, foods are given points based on calories, fat and other nutritional info. Members have this point range for the day. Pretty much all vegetables had no points, as did salsa. Being the salsa lover I am, I thought of topping my salad with salsa instead of an oily dressing.

It being summer, I’m really trying to watch my caloric intake. So for lunch the other day, I decided to revive my salsa salad idea. This is, of course, a recipe guide, as I like to say. Just add whatever would taste good to you. Here’s what I had that day:

  • Iceberg lettuce
  • Salsa
  • Tomatoes (may seem like an overload but I love tomatoes)
  • Cilantro
  • Tortilla chips (lime flavored is my fave)
  • Two carrots fresh from the farmer’s market

Mix it all together, quantities to your preference, and you’ll have a fresh, crisp, cool salad perfect for lunch. One evening I paired this with a pan-seared flank steak and added fajita seasonings. Delicioso!

Leave a Reply

