Honey-Chicken Salad

19 Jul

Chicken salad is one of my favorite dishes. Eating it on a sandwich, with crackers, on it’s own — all delicious. But (and there’s always a but with my picky palette), I do not like celery. I’ve always wanted to like celery, ever since I was in Brownies and the moms would make those celery-peanut butter sticks. But I just don’t. And unfortunately, quite a lot of chicken salad recipes include celery, including this one that I adapted. Fortunately, I can leave it out.

  • 4 cups chopped cooked chicken (half of one of those rotisserie chickens in the grocery store deli; I used mojo flavored from Publix)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 green onion, chopped
  • 1 cup mayo
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  1. Combine chicken, pecans and green onions.
  2. Whisk together mayo, honey, salt and pepper.
  3. Add to chicken mixture, stirring gently until combined.

Usually I think anyone else can make a dish better than I. Even sandwiches — they just taste better when someone else fixes them. But not this. It was my favorite by far. And not just because I didn’t have to pick out the celery.

A girlie way to display this dish 🙂

The original recipe called for dried cranberries and I had every intention of adding them. When I went to make this dish, however, I discovered, and then remembered, I had thrown away my bag of dried cranberries when ants got into my cupboard earlier this summer. Next time, I will add them. The recipe says a cup but I think 1/2 cup will do. Dried cranberries are pretty sweet and this dish, with it’s honey base, could be a little too sweet with a lot of cranberries.

Also, the original recipe didn’t call for green onions but I had some chopped up for a potato salad I was making (post to come later) so I added some to this chicken salad for more color and for a nice balance to the sweetness.

 

 

Leave a Reply

