Bacon Potato Salad

23 Jul

This recipe had me at bacon. Like most meat-eaters, I love bacon.

I had never made potato salad before. My mom and grandma make really good old-fashioned Southern potato salad. They use brown (Russet, I assume) potatoes to really sop up the dressing and flavors of the other ingredients. Before choosing this recipe, I did a little research (google) on which potatoes to use. Red or new potatoes tend to hold their form and not be too mushy, while brown potatoes can get a little mushy but better absorb the flavors of the other ingredients.

Bacon Potato Salad, served with the Honey-Chicken Salad from previous post.

Since I don’t want to mess with perfection, I choose to stay away from recipes similar to my mom’s and grandma’s. I found this bacon potato salad recipe that was in Southern Living back in 2005.

  • 3 pounds red, new potatoes
  • 1/2 pound bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 6 green onions, chopped
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Cook potatoes in boiling water over medium heat 15-18 minutes or until tender. Drain and let cool slightly.

Place potatoes in a large bowl. Add bacon, green onions, salt and pepper.

Stir together mayo and sour cream until blended. Pour over potato mixture, tossing gently to coat. Cover and chill for at least one hour.

Served with a ham sandwich and tall glass of Kool-aid. What a fun summer lunch!

This turned out pretty well. I’ll definitely make it again, but will probably reduce the mayo and sour cream mixture a bit. I’m not a big mayo or sour cream fan unless they are well blended with something.

I was able to eat from this for days. For one serving, I added some shredded cheddar cheese because I thought the other ingredients were a like those of a loaded baked potato.

Leave a Reply

