Chickpea Salad

8 May

Most of my posts have links back to a page I used as a recipe guide, but this one, well, I pretty much copied everything from this blog post. Her photos are really good. I just love the rainbow. My wellness coaches at work are always telling us to eat a rainbow of fruits and veggies. (I am aware I’m not as good as a photographer.)

While I may copy her post, I did make this recipe my own.

  • 1 16 oz can of chickpeas, drained

    The rainbow of healthy ingredients!

  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • dash of garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon of Mediterranean seasoning (picked this up at World Market)
  • dash of sea salt
  • about a third of a bag of salad lettuce
  • three plum tomatoes
  • 1/2 cucumber, diced
  • about a quarter of a red onion, diced
  • tomato-basil feta cheese
  • balsamic vinegar

In large pan, heat olive oil over medium. Swirl in the spices. Stir in the chickpeas. Cook for about 10 minutes until they brown.

Divide and assemble lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers and onions onto two plates. Top with cooked chickpeas. Sprinkle with feta cheese. And then drizzle with balsamic vinegar.

So healthy, filling and delicious!

I added the balsamic vinegar as an afterthought because it tasted like something was missing. It was just what the salad needed. I may try adding it to the chickpeas instead next time.

2 Responses to “Chickpea Salad”

  1. mtwentysix May 8, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    I love love love chickpeas. This is a great recipe, might try it tonight! Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Salmon with Cilantro and Lime « southern dilettante - May 8, 2012

    […] enough for two, but of course I ate the whole thing with a side of leftover chickpea salad. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like9 bloggers like this […]

Leave a Reply

