Tomato Pie

23 Jul

I love tomatoes. They may be my favorite food. One time a doctor told me I may have to avoid acidic foods like tomatoes and I almost started crying. Turns out I didn’t need to after all, thank goodness!

This time of summer usually brings a bumper of the fruit so I opted to make a tomato pie. I’ve made them in the past but I wanted to try out a new recipe. This year I tried Paula Deen’s version and it did not disappoint.

  • 4 tomatoes (or 3 if you’re down South; we grow ’em big)
  • 10 or 12 fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onions
  • 1 cup of grated mozerella
  • 3/4 to 1 cup of grated cheddar
  • about 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan
  • 3/4 cup of mayo (I’m not a big mayo fan which is why I didn’t use a whole cup)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 deep dish pie crust

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Slice the tomatoes and place in colander in sink. Sprinkle with salt and allow them to drain about 10 minutes. After that, I still had pat down the maters with paper towels to sop up some more juice. This is to help keep the pie from being so runny.

Layer the tomatoes, basil and green onions in the pie crust. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

In a bowl, combine mayo and cheeses. Spread the mixture on top of the tomatoes.

Bake for 30 minutes. I put the broil on for just about 5 minutes to get my crust darker.

Slice and serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

